Home   |   Technical Articles

Technical Articles

What is ISO/IEC TR 19757-5:2014 ?

Title: Understanding ISO/IEC TR 19757-5:2014: A Technical Standard for Software Asset Management


Software asset management is a critical aspect of information technology (IT) management, as it helps organizations to efficiently manage their software assets. Two key international standards that support software asset management are EN ISO 19770-4:2014 and ISO-IEC 19757-5:2014. In this article, we will discuss the purpose and key components of these two standards, and their significance in software asset management.

Purpose of EN ISO 19770-4:2014:

EN ISO 19770-4:2014 is a professional technical standard that focuses on software asset management. It provides a framework for managing the effective acquisition, utilization, and disposal of software assets within an organization. The primary purpose of EN ISO 19770-4:2014 is to establish guidelines and best practices for software asset management processes, with the aim of optimizing software resources and minimizing risks.

Key Components of EN ISO 19770-4:2014:

EN ISO 19770-4:2014 is built upon the principles of the ISO/IEC 19770 standard, which is a framework for software asset management. The standard is composed of several key components, including:

1. Software Asset Management Processes: These processes define the steps involved in managing software assets, including asset acquisition, utilization, and disposal.

2. Software Asset Management Frameworks: These frameworks provide guidance on implementing software asset management processes and best practices.

3. Software Asset Management Information: This information defines the data requirements for software asset management processes and the format of the data.

ISO-IEC 19757-5:2014: A Document Schema Definition Language

ISO-IEC 19757-5:2014, also known as DSDL (Document Schema Definition Languages), is a standard developed by the International Organization for Standardization and the International Electrotechnical Commission. It provides a framework for defining schema languages for documents in various domains. The primary purpose of ISO-IEC 19757-5:2014 is to establish a consistent and interoperable way of representing information within different document types.

Main Features of ISO-IEC 19757-5:2014:

ISO-IEC 19757-5:2014 defines a set of rules and guidelines for document schemas, which are used to represent the structure and format of various types of documents. The standard provides a standardized way of representing information, making it easier for organizations to manage and integrate their documents across different systems and platforms.


In conclusion, EN ISO 19770-4:2014 and ISO-IEC 19757-5:2014 are two key international standards that support software asset management. They provide a framework for managing software assets, defining schema languages for documents, and establishing best practices for software asset management processes. By following these standards, organizations can optimize their software resources, minimize risks, and maximize the return on their investment in software assets.

Contact Us

Contact: Nina She

Phone: +86-13751010017

Tel: +86-755-33168386

Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeClose
the qr code