Home   |   Technical Articles

Technical Articles

What are the utilization categories of IEC 60947-4-1

The IEC 60947-4-1 is an international standard that provides guidelines for low-voltage switchgear and control gear. This standard categorizes the utilization of electrical equipment based on their performance in various conditions. In this article, we will explore the different utilization categories defined by the IEC 60947-4-1 and understand their significance in electrical systems.

Utilization Category A: AC-1

AC-1 is the most common utilization category and refers to switching operations of non-inductive or slightly inductive loads, such as resistive loads. This category is applicable to devices like heaters, lighting, and small motors with low starting currents. AC-1 utilization primarily involves moderate current levels and infrequent switching operations.

Utilization Category B: AC-3

AC-3 utilization category is specifically designed for switchgear and control gear intended to handle motor loads. It applies to equipment used for starting, accelerating, decelerating, and reversing motors. AC-3 is characterized by higher inrush currents during motor starting and continuous current during the motor's normal operation. Switching devices in AC-3 category should be able to handle these higher current levels.

Utilization Category C: AC-15

AC-15 category is concerned with switching operations involving control circuits. These circuits typically control devices such as electromagnetic coils, solenoid valves, and contactors. The currents involved in AC-15 category are relatively low, but they require reliable switching to ensure proper functioning of control equipment. This category plays a crucial role in industrial automation systems where precise control is essential.

Utilization Category D: DC-1 and DC-3

Unlike AC categories, DC utilization categories have separate classifications for resistive loads (DC-1) and motor loads (DC-3). DC-1 refers to switching operations of non-inductive or slightly inductive loads in DC circuits. This category is relevant for applications involving DC lighting, heating elements, and similar equipment. On the other hand, DC-3 applies to switchgear and control gear used for starting, accelerating, decelerating, and reversing DC motors.

In conclusion, the utilization categories defined by IEC 60947-4-1 provide a standardized approach for classifying electrical equipment based on their specific functional requirements. Understanding these categories helps in selecting appropriate devices for different applications, ensuring safety and reliable operation of electrical systems.

Contact Us

Contact: Nina She

Phone: +86-13751010017

Tel: +86-755-33168386

Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeClose
the qr code